July 29, 2009

Entry details online

Twenty-four teams will contest the Edinburgh International Curling Championship, November 27-29, 2009. These will be split into four sections of six teams. The top two from each section will qualify for quarterfinal places. Positions will be determined on points won. No team can go out of the competition without at least playing a four-end tiebreak game. The top qualifier from each section will have the choice of last stone in the quarterfinals.

Prizes. The overall winning team will receive £4000; the runner up team will receive £2000; losing semifinalist teams will each receive £1000 and the losing quarterfinalist teams will receive £500.

More details of the competition and details of how to enter may be downloaded by clicking here.

July 12, 2009

Fundraising evening

A Gala Dinner and Fun Evening has been organised for the evening of Saturday, September 12, in the club rooms of the Edinburgh Curling Club at Murrayfield, to support the Edinburgh International Championship. Details on how to obtain tickets (£25 per person) are on a pdf file which can be downloaded from here.

Curling begins at the Murrayfield rink on Thursday, September 17.

Last year's winners

The winners of the 2008 event were (L-R) Andy Kapp (skip), Holger Hohne (2nd), Andy Lang (3rd) and Andreas Kempf (lead). Pic by Bob Cowan.

More photos from the 2008 event can be found here, here, here and here.

The Edinburgh International Curling Championship Blog

The purpose of this blog is to provide information and news about the Edinburgh International Curling Championship. This year's event will be held at the Murrayfield Ice Rink, November 27-29, 2009.